Click here to Skip to main content
Louisiana High School Basketball Coaches Association








Announcement: Baron Ring Company has become the official ring sponsor of the LHSBCA and will provide the LHSBCA their Hall of Fame rings each year as part of the partnership

Note: Logo and picture are linked to Baron website                                        


LHSBCA Facebook                                                                                     LHSBCA Twitter



2017-18 Membership appliication is available on members page, and for online sign up. Dues have been reduced to $20 per coach.

May 2017 Newsletter

July 2017 Newsletter

Additional News letter files-

Tips to Parents being a Key Parent

Fred Hoiberg Pitch Series

UW Summer Guard Packet 

UW Summer Post Packet

Louisiana High School Basketball Coaches

Coaches Information


Dear Coaches:

In order to increase our Louisiana High School Basketball Coaches Association Membership we are attempting to create an up to date database of all boys and girls Varsity, Junior Varsity and 9th grade high school coaches in the state of Louisiana 

If you could please take a moment to update your contact information (Name, Address, E-mail, School) for our records, it would me much appreciated.  Also, if you could forward this email to any other coaches your know who may or may not be affiliated with the LHSBCA it would help us to reach out and recruit new members.

We have also met and discussed new and exciting ways we can incentivize membership in our association.  Your input is of vital importance.  Consequently, providing us with the contact information requested will enable us to better serve you and high school basketball in the state of Louisiana.  

Please keep in mind that our association is separate from LHSAA and LHSCA membership.  Our purpose is solely high school basketball.  While we are affiliated with these groups, we are by no means beholden to them.  Our mission is your mission- to be the voice of basketball coaches as they teach our young people life lessons through athletics. 




Todd Martinez
[1st Vice President] 


LHSBCA Officers
President- Chris Beckman, Episcopal 225-456-1383
1st Vice President- Todd Martinez, Captain Shreve 318-347-4947
2nd Vice President- Travis Uzee, St Amant 225-610-5992
Secretary- Barbara Farris, John Curtis 504-416-4070
Treasurer- Michael Rea, North Caddo 318-243-6146
Technology Coordinator- Rod Kirschner, LHSBCA 832-217-5138
Chris White, Airline 318-286-9852
Board of Directors
Executive Director
Tommy Hodges, Doyle, 225-603-5570
Board Members – Elected for 5 Year Term (July 2015-July 2020)
Kenny Almond, Holden, 225-335-1248
Danny Broussard, St. Thomas More, 337-278-8324
Gary Duhe, Live Oak, 225-939-9986
Elmo Fernandez, Woodlawn BR, 225-252-4030
Kathy Luke, Riverside, 985-804-3457
Eddie Michalko, East Chambers, 337-540-4612
Denny Wright, Grand Isle, 225405-1610
Micah Coleman, Natchitoches Central, 318-228-9819
Tammy McClure, Zachary, 225-936-5288
Technology Coordinator – Elected as permanent member
Rod Kirschner, LHSBCA, 832-217-5138

Basketball Coordinators- Current coordinators elected for period they serve 


Stephen Strojny, St. Thomas More Head


Mark Casio, Catholic (BR) Head



Important Dates for 2017-2018 (if underlined click to open)



LHSBCA Congratulations 



LHSBCA 2017 All State Basketball Boys and Girls Team


Romin Williams- Country Day

Mitchell Robinson- Chalmette

Joshua LeBlanc- Madison  Prep

Kobe Julien- Madison Prep

Parker Edwards- St. Paul’s

Devion Dunbar- Sicily Island

TJ Zeno- Carencro

Cameron Dumas – Episcopal

Phillip Stewart – CE Byrd

John Jones – University High

MVP- Brandon Rachal – Natchitoches Central



Tiara Young – Evangel Christian

Jayma Mingo Young- Loranger

Victoriana Nelson – South Lafourche

Domonique Davis – Deridder

Emily Ward – Benton

Ashlyn Poole – Barbe

Rayah Haynes – Zachary

Kayla Watson – Amite

Presley Wascom – Live Oak

Tremeeka Spikes – Denham Springs

MVP- Kaila Anderson – University High


Girls- Catherine Kirksey -Byrd
Boys- Neill Caldwell -Dutchtown

2017 Scholarship Recipient

Bethany McGinnis - Pine


2017 LHSBCA Hall of Fame Inductees



2017 LHSCA/LHSBCA All Star Girls and Boys  Basketball Team

Game MVP's

Girls- Micaela Wilson -Rayville

Boys- Brandon Rachal- Ntchitoches Central

2017 All Star Game Summary


LABC Basketball Clinic
The Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) is once again sponsoring a coaching clinic for high school basketball coaches on Saturday, May 13, 2017 from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. at the LSU Basketball Practice Facility, North Stadium Drive, Baton Rouge, LA.  Registration will begin at 9:30 a.m.  The speakers will include new Louisiana State University men’s head coach Will Wade and his staff, along with men’s college head coaches Richie Riley of Nicholls State University and Chris Lovell of Bossier Parish Community College and women’s college head coach John Rennie of Bossier Parish Community College.
The cost will only be $15 per coach for the first coach from each high school and $10 per coach for each additional coach from the same high school.  This cost includes snacks and lunch.  Anyone who would like to attend the clinic should contact Coach Mike McConathy of Northwestern State University at (318) 357-4274 or by email at
43nd Annual Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches Awards Banquet
43rd Annual Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches Awards Banquet
May 13, 2017
Embassy Suites Hotel
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2017 LABC Honorees:
Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee:  John Williams, LSU
Mr. Louisiana Basketball:  Mark Whitehead, Denham Springs, Louisiana
Bob Pettit Award for the Louisiana Professional Player of the Year:  Paul Millsap, Atlanta Hawks
Pete Maravich Memorial Award for the Louisiana Major College Player of the Year:  Erik Thomas, New Orleans
Tommy Joe Eagles Memorial Award for the Louisiana Major College Coach of the Year:  Mark Slessinger, New Orleans
Louisiana Small College Player of the Year:  Brian Sylvester, LSU-Alexandria
Louisiana Small College Coach of the Year:  Larry Cordaro, LSU-Alexandria
Louisiana Junior College Player of the Year:  Lasani Johnson, Bossier Parish
Louisiana Junior College Coach of the Year:  Ricky Wilson, Baton Rouge
Louisiana High School Players of the Year:
Class AAAAA:  Ja’Vonte Smart, Scotlandville
Class AAAA:  Davontavean Martin, Ellender
Class AAA:  C.J. Jones, Wossman
Class AA:  Romin Williams, Metairie Park Country Day
Class A:  Greg Williams, Lafayette Christian
Class B:  Brian Brown, Negreet
Class C:  Tony Brown, Atlanta
Louisiana High School Coaches of the Year:
Class AAAAA:  Brian Gibson, Landry-Walker
Class AAAA:  Albert Hartwell, Washington-Marion
Class AAA:  Paul Kelly, De La Salle
Class AA:  Damon West, Rayville
Class A:  Charlie Williams, Tensas
Class B:  Carlo Maggio, Hathaway
Class C:  Dirk Ricks, Jehovah-Jireh